top of page

Spotlight Artist | TAIGENZ

Exclusive chat with rising star TAIGENZ about being indie, his favorite song he's ever written and what's to come.





Welcome to Mob Magazine - Spotlight for Artist. We use this platform to highlight indie talent we see Mastering Overcoming Boundaries.


"I'm currently working on single after single after single and overall better songwriting." -Taigenz


We have the pleasure of sitting down with Taigenz, please give us a little background on your musical career and journey. When did you get started and what inspired you to pursue music seriously?


TAIGENZ: Since I wrote my first rap at 11 years old, I knew I found what I wanted to pursue. Nobody or nothing has ever stopped my love and passion for music ever since.


  • If you weren’t doing music, what career would you have right now?


TAIGENZ: I would definitely be doing something entrepreneurial. I'm very interested in economics and business. I would be looking for some creative way to generate income and combine it with a social cause.


  • What’s your songwriting process?


TAIGENZ: My songwriting process is really just a vibe. I usually like to listen to the beat first and go from there. Sometimes I use existing melodies that I haven’t used if it fits the vibe of the song.


However, I should note that I studied mechanical engineering in college, so chances are I'd also be in that field in some way shape or form had I continued with the program.

  • What’s it like being indie? Do you prefer it over possibly getting signed?


TAIGENZ: I don't necessarily have a preference, although being indie is all I've known. I've never been signed to a label nor ever had a major machine behind me. I'm not necessarily aiming to get signed to a major, however, it would be interesting to have that label experience in terms of project management, marketing and promotion. Being indie is a strenuous journey and you have to love it in order to continue. I love the journey that I'm on, but it takes a lot of resilience and persistence to not give up because the world doesn't recognize your talents and what you can bring to the table...just yet. I know many people who couldn't continue on this route, and I don't blame 'em. Shit is tough.


  • What are you currently working on?


TAIGENZ: I'm currently working on single after single after single and overall better songwriting. I just dropped “Foolish Money” and my next one is already coming out early June. I have enough music to drop one, maybe 2 projects but I'd rather spread my releases since I know we're in a singles economy, especially for emerging artists. I do love the process of creating an album, but the demand gotta match and exceed the supply that way I'll be ready to give the world what they want with a big ass smile.

  • What’s your songwriting process?


TAIGENZ: Before writing lyrics down, I go through a freestyling moment where I just isolate myself and run through beats and rap to them. Once I come across a beat that really sticks to me, then I'll let it marinate in my head for a time period (could be hours, days, even weeks). Then I mentally outline my approach in terms of lyrics, subject matter, musical direction, etc

And finally I'll get to writing and completing the puzzle. This usually happens with several songs simultaneously, all at varying stages.


  • What are some goals you are wanting to achieve in the upcoming 2-3 years involving your music or any other ventures?


TAIGENZ: As I'm raising my profile in the industry, one of my goals in the next 2-3 years is to get on an international tour as a support act for a more established artist, as well as my own headlining regional tour. Assuming by then outside is fully back open, of course.

I also want to land my first few songwriting placements for developing acts (Pop, R&B, Rap) and develop my career on the publishing side.


  • What would you say are some challenges you face as a creative?


TAIGENZ: Biggest challenge is definitely money. It can be very discouraging when you have an idea but then reach financial roadblocks which then forces you to adjust and even compromise the execution of your idea. But then again, that's where being creative becomes key, so you just gotta play in the mud until you find a structure that stays solid.


A next challenge would be the proof of concept. You gotta make the public understand you for real about this, that they can buy into your brand and trust that you will never short change them. It's way easier said than done. Especially if you are trying to win over a new fan everyday.


  • What are some of your dream collaborations?


TAIGENZ: Listen, I'm trying to get Chloe Bailey on a hook and Halle on a bridge.

One of my favorite rappers, J.Cole, I gotta go verse for verse with him.


Also, I'm big on everything Afrobeat so definitely getting in the booth with Burna Boy would be a pretty good check mark on my bucket list.


Lastly, and I know I will unfortunately never get the opportunity, is working with Nipsey Hussle (RIP). He's single handedly kept me motivated all these years even when I was in the darkest of spaces.


If we step out of Hip-hop, I would love to do something with Adele. Her talent is just phenomenal.


FINAL QUESTION :

What is one of your favorite songs you’ve ever created and why?


TAIGENZ: One of my favorite songs I've ever created has to be "I.O.U."

Everything was so fluid when writing it, from the topic, to the hook and to the direction I was taking it. It came from an honest place where I was just confused about where I stood emotionally with a lady in the not-so-distant past.

I'm very proud of myself for constructing such a relatable song yet with a distinct sound. I love performing that one as well.



MOB Magazine


Thank you for giving us so much insight to how you operate and allow your creativity to come from such an authentic place. Thank you so much for choosing M.O.B Magazine to work with. We’ll be adding you to some of our featured playlists and wish you continued success in all that you do. Everyone at M.O.B Magazine thinks you’re extremely talented & thanks you for your time. Keep Mastering overcoming Boundaries.




 



SPOTIFY


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page