top of page

Spotlight Artist | ROD HARDY

Exclusive chat with rising star Rod Hardy about being indie, his favorite song he's ever written and what's to come.




Welcome to Mob Magazine - Spotlight for Artist. We use this platform to highlight indie talent we see Mastering Overcoming Boundaries.


" I fund everything myself and I’m fine with that but I think experience and a quality partnership is essential for any success. "


We have the pleasure of sitting down with Rod Hardy, please give us a little background on your musical career and journey. When did you get started and what inspired you to pursue music seriously, was there a specific moment?


ROD HARDY: Yes, Last year my brother fell into a coma for 20 plus days, and when he woke up it showed me life is fragile and too short not to chase our passion. He told me about the few things he remembered and the vision was “GO”.


  • If you weren’t doing music, what career would you have right now?


ROD HARDY: At this point I can’t imagine anything else. I’d still be in business as an entrepreneur which I’ve done for years but I’d tie music in somehow.


  • What’s it like being indie? Do you prefer it over possibly being signed?


ROD HARDY: Being indie is hard. You wear many hats and there are times when you want to be creative but you have to do the necessary admin work, times you want to jump in the studio but you have to go over analytics, times when you don’t know what to do next but you have to do something. I’ve never been signed but I’d like to be at some point for the added support. I fund everything myself and I’m fine with that but I think experience and a quality partnership is essential for any success.

  • What are you currently working on?


ROD HARDY: I’m currently putting the final touches on my EP set to release this summer as well as entering early brainstorming for my full album.


  • What’s your song writing process?

ROD HARDY: I previewed this on my IG live last week actually and posted on my page. I work through packs and find the beats I like then I just harmonize and riddle through the beat to get my tempo and see how I want to approach it. Once the cadence is down I pick a topic and add words.

  • What are some goals you are wanting to achieve in the upcoming 2-3 years involving your music or any other ventures?

ROD HARDY: My big goals in the next 2 years are to really blow the doors open, major label, major tour, and the grammy's. In between there are all the detailed goals to reach those big ones. Outside of music I want to use my platform to educate. For far too long blacks have been without quality resources and we have to change that.


  • What would you say are some challenges you face as a creative?

ROD HARDY: For me it’s getting my stuff out there and protecting my creative space. You find yourself filtering through scammers and finally doing it yourself but as I said time is everything so when it’s time to create you gotta lock in and shut all else out.


  • What are some of your dream collaborations?

ROD HARDY: The Carters, I need both Jay and B, Kendrick for sure, Chris Brown Her and Pharell and Hitmaka on the production side. A Lot more but off the top those for sure. I think music is a collaborative thing.



FINAL QUESTION :

What is one of your favorite songs you’ve ever created and why?


ROD HARDY: I’d say right now “Greatness” cause it’s my story. The vision I have for my career and truly being great.



MOB Magazine


You definitely are on the path to greatness. Thank you so much for choosing M.O.B Magazine to work with. We’ll be adding you to some of our featured playlists and wish you continued success in all that you do. Everyone at M.O.B Magazine thinks you’re extremely talented & thanks you for your time. Keep Mastering overcoming Boundaries.


 



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page